Nominations for the 2015 Selby Fellowship are now closed

The Fellowship is financed through the generosity of the trustees of the Selby Scientific Foundation. In 1980 the Director of H B Selby Australia recognised the need for a continuing source of funds to help finance education, research and development in the fields of science and medicine, with which the company had been involved for some 80 years as a supplier of scientific instruments, laboratory apparatus and chemicals. Accordingly, the Selby Scientific Foundation was established with contributions from HB Selby Australia Ltd, members of the Selby family and a number of shareholders in the Selby company.


Fellowships are awarded to distinguished overseas scientists to visit Australia for public lecture/seminar tours and to visit scientific centres in Australia. Fellows are expected to increase public awareness of science and scientific issues and accordingly will be outstanding lecturers to the general lay public.


Fellowships are tenable for visits of not less than two weeks and not more than three months. Up to $A13 000 is available to cover economy airfares and assistance towards living expenses. The amount offered is subject to a budget and detailed itinerary. It is the responsibility of the nominator to nominate hosts for the arrangement of both public and scientific lectures in the various centres to be visited.


Fellowships are awarded by the Council of the Academy on the recommendations of the Selby Fellowship Selection Committee.  Prospective candidates should not only be outstanding scientists but also should have strong public lecturing abilities. Visits to as many areas of Australia as possible, including Western Australia, are encouraged. Public lectures held at the Academy's Shine Dome in Canberra are very welcome and applicants are encouraged to contact the secretariat to obtain costings for this.

Previous winners:

1994 – J Lyklema; DJP Barker
1993 – CF Bohren
1992 – SC Morris; FH Shu
1991 – H Bolhar-Nordenkampf
1990 – JV Smith
1989 – ER Andrew; M.L. Good
1986 – OE Bjorkman
1984 – MD Houslay
1983 – P Rakic
1982 – WA Gambling
1979 – FJ Dyson
1978 – BJ Bok
1977 – JW Cornforth

Junior Selby Fellows
1975 – T Hatta
1971 – M Aoki
1965 – T Nikara
1964 – R Maud
1963 – M Matsuyama
1962 – FA de la Cruz
1961 – WM Deuchars

Senior Selby Fellows

2014 - R Jayawardhana
2014 - U Steiner
2013 - R Warner
2012 - R de Grijs
2011 – JS Higgins
2010 – PJ Sadler
50th Anniversary – PJ Gregory
2009 – RP Kirshner
2008 – RB Gennis
2007 – J Silk
2006 – GM Hewitt
2005 – BL Bassler
2004 – D Pritchard
2003 – CJ Arntzen
2002 – LA Smith
2001 – J Jouzel; KA Moffatt
2000 – I Pepperberg
1999 – G Schatz
1998 – DS Dearborn
1997 – CJ Humphreys
1996 – J Barber
1995 – M Longair; J Thiede

For more information contact